The ‘snooze’ button is dangerous…

7:30 am Beep Beep Beep Beep

*snooze* 

7:45 am Beep Beep Beep Beep

*Snooze*

Repeat. 4 times. 

Oh crap! I’m going to be late for spin class! I haven’t eaten, my hair is a disaster, and I can’t find my gym card. Typical Sunday Morning. 

Luckily, time stood still long enough for me to get everything together, choke down gracefully eat a banana, get my hair into a ponytail, and make it to an intense spin session (where I almost died). Now it’s 11am and i’m starving…

So what do I do? I decide spending an hour in Sephora will satiate my hunger. Somehow I managed to block out the grumbling in my stomach until I stepped outside of the store. Now I feel guilty for looking at $31 mascara and am actually considering eating the MAC lipstick that’s in my gym bag. Grocery store time! I want pasta, donuts, cookies, cheese, cupcakes, fries, you know…everything I shouldn’t be eating if I plan to fit into my New Years Dress. 

So to appease my pasta craving, I decided to make a ‘mock’ pasta dish with cauliflower instead of pasta! It was delicious!

Image

Image

Image

I love this Neal Brothers Salsa because it’s organic, spicy (well sort of), and most importantly doesn’t contain sugar. I will never understand why Salsa has sugar in it. I am also a huge fan of Eden Foods beans. The cans are made with a BPA free lining AND there is no added salt. It amazes me when I read the ingredients of canned beans and sauces and the sodium content is at 36%. WHY?!?!?!

I forgot to take a photo of everything combined, but basically I just mixed everything together, added a ton of chilli and cumin and devoured it. Cheese would probably add to the experience, but I haven’t found a vegan cheese I can tolerate so I ate it without. It was still really good.

Then, like a good girl. I prepared my snacks for the week! These are my favourites. Today was a sugar craving kind of day tho, so I sort of ate an asian pear, watermelon, and a pint of blackberries and raspberries…and maybe a 2nd banana. My bad. Image

 

Having healthy snacks available, especially if you know you’re going to be craving junk food, is a great way to keep from  giving in to temptation. Don’t get me wrong, I treat myself, but I also need to learn to say no. Which, for the record, I am really quite bad at.

My nails are painted and my lunch is packed, I should probably call it a night. Tomorrow promises to be a stormy day with a chance of freezing rain and 10cm of snow! Eeek.

 

Leave a Reply

