Green Smoothie Challenge DAY 1

*Beep Beep Beep Beep*

Ugh. Is it morning already? Grab phone- try to turn off alarm- but wait, what is this? The screen is frozen! How am I supposed to turn this evil thing off? Oh I know, I’ll just turn the phone off… –NO DICE–  Can’t turn off alarm, can’t turn off phone…great.  After a solid 4 minutes of uttering unladylike words at my phone, waking up my husband, and wrestling the otter box protective case off it,  it finally unlocks and let’s me snooze the alarm for 10 minutes. Whew!

Well that was exciting, but now i’m tired again, so let me lie here for 10 more minutes…    zzzzzzzzZZZZZZ

**3 hours later***

WTH. My phone snoozed for 3 hours instead of 10 minutes. Awesome.

I stumbled out of bed and was about to be in a cranky mood when I remembered today is day 1 of my 10 day green smoothie challenge!! So instead of being a complete grump over missing spinning I headed to the kitchen and made a delicious breakfast!

Whoops. Maybe I should back up a little bit…I never really explained what I plan to do for the next 10 days. I don’t have a super duper concrete plan but this is essentially the rules i’ll be following.

1. At least 1.5 litres of green smoothie. The smooth will contain flax,  fruit such as mango, pineapple, and/or peaches with veggies such as fresh spinach, kale, parsley.

2. Unlimited raw vegetables during the day

3. Fruit only allowed in smoothie

4. Small amount of nuts or seeds

5. Beans and lentils

6. No grains of any kind. No oil. No alcohol (gulp). No sugar (other than the fruit)

7. KEEP IT SIMPLE

Spinach, pineapple, Strawberries, mango, and flax. DELISH!
Spinach, pineapple, Strawberries, mango, and flax. DELISH!

DSC01850  DSC01860

Yum! It’s so good! I wish I liked banana in smoothies, but I really think it gives it a funky texture so no bananas for me for the next 10 days. Boo…. (okay maybe a banana or 2).

After I finished the smoothie I decided to head to the local market to find some veggies for the upcoming week. The key to success for this type of endeavour is preparation! Which means keeping my fridge stocked with fresh veggies. Otherwise i’ll be tempted to open the bag of frozen chocolate chip cookies that are in my freezer.

DSC01896I picked up as much organic produce as I could. This picture makes me hungry.

Originally I planned to cook the lentils for salad and eat as raw as possible, but it’s winter time and I could use a little warmth so I decided to make mushroom lentil soup. I didn’t use any oil, very little salt, and the ingredients are very clean. Mushrooms, onion, roasted garlic, parsley, and lentils with a ton of curry powder, cumin, and cayenne. It’s a hearty, healthy, feel good soup/stew.

I didn’t make it to spinning today, so instead I created a circuit for myself consisting of an unreal amount of burpees, side planks, crunches, and jump lunges. After a gruelling 30 minutes of non stop flailing around, I made myself a large and very filling salad with peppers, onion, and chick peas. Unfortunately an hour later the unthinkable inevitable happened–I was craving dessert. I stayed strong and had this instead.

DSC01909

Cucumber, tomato, red onion, parsley, with roasted garlic on the side. (Warm roasted garlic on a salad might be my new obsession). For a dressing I used fresh ginger, lemon, coriander, red pepper flakes, and parsley.

Day 1 went great. Here’s hoping day 2 is even better.

Leave a Reply

