Green Egg–no ham. Green smoothie challenge Day 2!

7am – Make an amazing green smoothie with spinach, mango, pineapple, strawberries, carrot juice and flax. I made a large batch so I could have some later in the day as well.

12pm – Finished spin class. Feeling kind of hungry…might as well finish up that green smoothie.

“What the heck!? It’s congealed!!”    …oh right, I put a ton of flax in there. For all of my vegan bakers out there, you know that ground flax mixed with water = flax egg. A smoothie with the texture of an egg…not cool.

So I learned something today. No flax in the smoothie until I’m about to drink it! Or else it turns to pudding haha. I know there are a lot of people who make overnight oats with chia seeds and WANT that gel texture but I’m weird when it comes to texture and this one was NOT doing it for me.

I’m SUPER mildly excited for tomorrow’s green smoothie. I am going to spinning tomorrow morning, so I prepped all of the fruit and veggies tonight to make it easier. I even decided to buy some bananas and freeze them in chunks to see if I can tolerate that in a smoothie. (Cross your fingers for me!)

Juicy kiwi!
juicy kiwi!

Drool! This is going to be so good in tomorrow's smoothie!
Drool! This is going to be so good in tomorrow’s smoothie!

SALADDDDD….
DSC01942

So I may have had the best salad of all time today. I didn’t feel like spinach, so I used romaine, cucumber, tomato, cabbage, carrot, peppers, shallot, parsley, lentils, tossed in a lemon ginger dressing with roasted garlic on the side. So delish! (I promise to start posting proper recipes soon.)

I made cupcakes for my husband today and although I cannot eat them because they are not gluten free it made me crave sugar so badly. So much so that I had to have a few berries to keep from hitting the sorbet in the freezer.

I am planning to do another green smoothie challenge (with actual instructions/rules) in the new year.  Hmm…I’m only on day 2, making a claim like this might be a little premature. Nah, I just said i’d do it, so I pretty much have to now. Which is good because if this gets increasingly difficult i’ll need motivation to do it again. However, it’s only been 2 days and I already notice a difference in how I feel so I can’t imagine why I wouldn’t want to do this again. Is anyone interested in doing it with me?

