Green Smoothie Challenge Day 3 & Warm Mushroom Salad with Cashews

DSC01972

I conned one of my friends into joining me for spin class this morning. If memory serves me correctly, my butt hurt so badly the night after my first spin class I could barely walk, stand, sit, or lie down without grimacing. I also swore to never go to another class. (Luckily I enjoy torturing myself and decided to give it another shot and have been hooked ever since). Hopefully she’s doing better than my first day.

I hurried home after class dreaming of green smoothie and salad, but since it’s so ridiculously cold outside I couldn’t settle for a simple ‘cold’ salad, so I decided to make one of my FAVOURITE salads–warm mushroom salad. I had to make a few adjustments to make it smoothie challenge acceptable, but it was incredible. Exactly what I needed.

Make the dressing before starting the salad
Make the dressing before starting the salad
Chop mushrooms, shallot, and rosemary
Chop mushrooms, shallot, and rosemary

Did I mention I love mushrooms? Especially portabello and shitakes. Oooh, all this talk of mushrooms makes me crave mushroom soup.

Throw everything in a pan and let the magic happen.
Throw everything in a pan and let the magic happen.

DSC01968

 Chop cashews and assemble salad. Combine salad and dressing, plate, top with mushrooms and shallots and finish off by sprinkling cashews on top!

Chop cashews and assemble salad. Combine salad and dressing, plate, top with mushrooms and shallots and finish off by sprinkling cashews on top!

 Warm Mushroom Salad with Cashews

1 large portebello mushroom cap
6 shitake mushrooms
1 shallot
¾ tsp fresh rosemary
½ tsp chilli flakes (I like heat, use less if you do not)
¼ tsp pepper
pinch of salt
2 cups romaine lettuce (Note: I typically use spinach or arugula but I’m in a romaine mood as of late)
¼ cup grated carrot
¼ cup julienned cabbage
¼ cup chopped cucumber
8 grape tomatoes, halved
6 cashews, roughly chopped

Dressing:
2 Tbsp chopped parsley
½ tsp grated ginger
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
Lemon, Juiced
Orange, juiced
¼ tsp each dried oregano, basil, garlic powder
2 tbsp sesame oil –
Salt and pepper to taste

Before beginning the salad, make the dressing and set aside to allow flavours to marry. (Note: I typically use 1 Tbsp maple syrup and 2-3 tbsp olive or sesame oil but these ingredients are not green smoothie challenge acceptable but definitely use these if you’re not doing the challenge).

Slice mushrooms and shallot and saute with rosemary, chilli flakes, salt and pepper. While the mushrooms and shallots cook, assemble the salad. Toss the dressing and salad together, top with cooked mushrooms and chopped cashews.

DSC01971

Leave a Reply

