Green Smoothie Day 4 –Kale makes an appearance!

I was not feeling well all day today and barely ate anything, but this evening when I finally stopped sulking I made an amazing drink using kale (with just a little spinach). I am still not feeling particularly great, but can’t sleep so I thought i’d share my drink of the day.

Oh and forgive me, for not having EXACTLY measurements. Everything listed below is approximate…but I think I did a pretty good job of guessing estimating. it’s only been a week, but since beginning blogging I realized that if I plan to continue posting recipes, I will need to take the time to measure everything to give a more accurate account of what I ate. Typically unless i’m making cake I tend to just throw ingredients in a pan and see what happens and season to taste. None of this 1/2 cup bell pepper and 1/4 tsp of chilli detail—BUT i’m trying to remember so stick with me a few more weeks and i’m bound to get better. 😀 (Well technically, I could get worse, but i’m going to try my hardest to improve).

Chop everything up and try  not to eat the ingredients before they make it to the blender.
Chop everything up and try not to eat the ingredients before they make it to the blender.
Can't wait to get a juicer so I can make my own carrot/orange/apple juice.
How Good does this look…seriously! Can’t wait to get a juicer so I can make my own carrot/orange/apple juice.

Definitely drank most of my smoothie before I remembered I didn't have photo proof that I made one haha.

Definitely drank most of my smoothie before I remembered I didn’t have photo proof that I made one haha.

It’s really good. I made 3 times the amount listed in the recipe below, because I wanted to have some already prepared for tomorrow. My husband isn’t feeling well and I need to have my strength up to be there for him. I am in the process of convincing him that these pukey green coloured smoothies are actually delicious, so maybe i’ll even convince him to have a little.

Kale Green Monster smoothie

Several handfuls of Kale (about 3 cups)
1 cup spinach
⅓ cup pineapple
½ frozen kiwi
½ cup frozen mango
¼ cup carrot juice
1 clementine, juiced
½ lemon, juiced
½ cup water (more if necessary)

Add liquid and greens to blender first (having these at the bottom makes blending easier). Throw in the fruit and blend on high speed until smooth. Try not to drink it all in 10 seconds…seriously I bet you can’t help yourself. If you’re like me, you’ll have it half gone before you even realize you’re drinking it. *blush*

 

Leave a Reply

