Green Smoothie Challenge Day 6 & Origins Skincare product review

I am so thankful for girlfriends. And often, whether they realize it or not, it’s the simplest of gestures that make the biggest impact. Whether it’s getting a silly “you’re my boo” text, receiving a cheer up coffee, or being able to be a grump around them judgement free… I don’t know what I would do without my girls. πŸ˜€

DSC02002Fun Fact # 1: I love penguins. How adorable is this little guy? He made a wonderful little home for my peppermint tea but I kept putting his hat back on because it added to the cuteness.

Fun Fact #2: Several of my colleagues saw my green smoothie today and said “oh my god, that looks absolutely disgusting…can I taste it? What’s in it?” Everyone liked the smoothie and was surprised at how NON disgusting it tasted…one by one i’ll convert my office!

I only have 4 more days of this challenge and I have to admit. I feel great! My only complaint is sleeplessness, but I don’t think that’s related to the smoothies at all. :S

So… I have been trying out a few Origins products for the past 2 weeks. I was going to wait a few more weeks before commenting on them them, but i’ve already noticed a significant difference in my skin so let’s talk skin care! I plan to give them a more thorough review in a month or so once i’ve had time to truly experience all of the benefits the products have to offer.

DISCLAIMER: One of the hardest problems i’ve faced since becoming a vegan, surprisingly enough, has not been giving up eating animal bi products, rather it’s been beauty products by companies who test on animals. For instance, I’ve given up all L’oreal products because they’re a well known animal tester. Okay fine. BAD L’Oreal. However, I really like NARS products and own quite a few products. Now while NARS themselves do not test on animals, Shiseido Cosmetics–the company who owns them–does. *Duhn Duhn Duhnnnnn*

Origins is a natural brand. Contain no animal bi-products, and do not test on animals, but I read this weekend that Estee Lauder owns Origins and have some animal testing in their past and quite possibly their present. I am planning to do a little more research on this to find out all of the facts, but want to disclose this fact to those of you who would not want to buy this product based on this. For the record I am not perfect. I will not be eating a steak, nor buying from a company (at least not knowingly) that tests cosmetics on animals, but what about in this situation where a company is natural and has morals BUT happens to be owned by a company without many? How do I feel then? Hhmmm…

Well that’s not a great note to end things, but let’s move into the products shall we?

Toner1The Make a Difference toner is Oil and Alcohol free and smells amazing. My skin feels soft and hydrated when I use it. There is something quite refreshing about this toner. I’ve been using it every morning and night and unlike the toner I was using before it doesn’t burn my skin and feel like I may have used wiped acid on my cheek.

 

 

A perfect World

The A Perfect World SPF 25 moisturizer is amazing as well. It is light, yet hydrating, and perfect for my oily skin. The added SPF is a bonus. One of the issues i’ve had with moisturizers in the past is the strong smell irritating my eyes. This one has a very gentle scent that fades quickly and does not bother me at all.

 

 

Night-a-minsThe night cream,Β High potency Night-A-Mins,Β is in a league of it’s own. It is one of the creamiest, richest, night creams i’ve ever used. Every morning after I wake up my skin looks refreshed and brighter. If I had to continue only one of the products from this line, it would be this one.

 

 

 

GinzingThe GinZing eye creamΒ is probably the reason i’ve started skipping my under eye concealer again. I have been having a problem with puffy dark circles for months now, and since starting using this product i’ve noticed a dramatic difference with the look my circles in the morning. No more hiding behind make up, just fresh bright skin.

 

 

Honestly, these products are amazing. No parabens, mineral oil, DEA, PABA, synthetic colour, etc. I’ve tried many different moisturizers, lotions, eye creams, and toners, and none have given me such dramatic results in such a short amount of time. Give them a try and let me know how you like them.

Leave a Reply

