Green Smoothie Challenge Wrap up

Where has the time gone? I feel like I just started this challenge a day or 2 ago and it’s already over. When I started, I had a few people tell me that I would be hungry the entire time, weak, moody, etc and it’s been the opposite. I’ve felt full (other than before meal time), had tons of energy, and other than work stress, have been relatively calm.

DSC01863Β 1. I read on several other blogs that it’s normal to experience headaches, a coated tongue, phlegm, break outs, and other symptoms and expected some of those, but other than a headache on day 3 and 4 (which went away with 1.5 litres of water) I didn’t have any real negative side effects.

2. Another thing I’ve read is that people tend to lose their cravings. I think it would have to go for longer than 10 days. I didn’t have any sugar cravings that were so bad I HAD to have a cookie that very moment, but the cravings definitely came periodically and haven’t really gone away. They just happen to be mild. That being said…I devoured a 1/2 pint of blackberries last night. Oops.

3. I’ve felt light, slim, and have had VERY LITTLE bloating. I don’t eat much salt, but do eat beans/lentils daily and no matter how I prepare them, I always get a certain amount of bloating. I ate very few of them this week and I could tell the difference.

4. I didn’t weigh or measure myself prior to starting the challenge, and I don’t think I’ve lost any weight, but I feel great. My stomach appears flatter, but I think that’s because I haven’t been bloated at all or retaining any water.

Overall, this was a great challenge. I am glad I did it and will probably do a similar ‘detox’ several times during the year. And for those of you who may be nervous…it’s only 10 days!! (and it’s not ONLY green smoothies, you are eating food–veggies and nuts are very filling).

There were a few other issues I was going to talk about in tonight’s post, but didn’t get to. However, tomorrow is Christmas Eve and I get the feeling, my co-workers will be hovering over boxes of chocolates so i’ll save my commentary of holiday eating til then.

DSC02117Finally, remember yesterday when I bragged about doubling up on my spin classes this morning? Yeah, that didn’t happen.

What I forgot to factor into the equation was the fact that I did an insane amount of squats and lunges yesterday. My quads, hamstrings, and glutes were NOT happy with me today. Energy wise, I could have done another class but I was so sore and tight that decided it wasn’t worth torturing myself. It’s also important to note that I have bad knees and although spinning doesn’t usually irritate them, when my hip flexors and IT band are tight, I end up limping for days.

DSC02115

When I was getting ready for class, something sparkly caught my eye…yep, definitely nail polish. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

