Ain’t nobody got time for that…

“Well I was going to workout, but then I sat down for an hour and got tired”

“I am super busy with work, I just don’t have time to workout”

“Ugh…how much time do you spend preparing and making smoothies?”

“I can’t possibly eat that much fresh food it’s way too expensive”

“You have time to workout because you don’t have any kids, wait til you have some then you’ll understand”

So as you may have guessed, this post is going to examine excuses surrounding healthy eating and exercise. The purpose isn’t to make anyone feel guilty, because at first glance–especially to someone new to these concepts–I imagine it seems rather daunting. Something i’ve discovered over the years is that part of healthy living means finding a balance that works for you–whether you have a gym membership, workout at home, or simply take long walks and replace your dinner bread with a salad it is all about gradual change that you can maintain. Just because someone you know goes to the gym for 2 hours twice a day, eats 15 mangoes a day, and hasn’t touched a slice of bread in 5 years doesn’t mean that’s what’s right for you. I do believe, however, in educating yourself on the importance of various nutrients and aiming to get those daily.

I think part of the problem, especially for individuals just starting out living healthy, is that they associate healthy living (especially clean eating) with this time consuming, bland, utterly expensive ‘cult’ if you will where you need to live off of spinach and kill yourself with cardio. Healthy does not mean flavourless and exercise doesn’t require the most expensive gym equipment or hours of your time. Most people will make time in the evening to curl up with their favourite book or tv show, yet can’t spare 20-30 minutes each day. If you have time for EVERYTHING in your life except exercise (or eating healthy) perhaps it’s time to take a step back and examine what’s a priority to you. Sure today you can get away with not being active and downing that can of coke, but think about your body in 5 years.  And I am not simply referring to weight gain, I mean all of the damage you’ve caused to your insides by ingesting crap and sitting immobilized in front of the television.

Make changes today that work for you. As you slowly see improvements it will encourage you to take it a step further and to keep improving on yourself. Since moving in the direction of a raw vegan (high fruit) diet, I have never felt better. I’m stronger, my mental clarity is amazing, and my stomach ONLY hates me when I eat those fatty, ‘junk’ foods that I sometimes treat myself with.  As for exercise  I do whatever I’m feeling today. I happen to have a gym membership, but often workout at home. This evening, I did a 20 minute workout followed by 10 minutes of abs. I was drenched in sweat and ready to quit by the end–so I assure you that is ALL the time you need.

My workout consisted of Jump Squats, crunches, Jump lunges (split kicks), leg lift and reverse crunch, and tricep dips. 20 reps and 5 sets. Followed by 50 bicycle crunches and 60 second planks 5 times.

I often make up my own workouts depending on what i’m looking to work on or how i’m feeling. Some of my favourite routines are 20 minute HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) workouts. Check  THESE workouts out. They are intense but worth it. When I followed her program more closely I was in the best shape of my life. Clearly need to get back to that.

All i’m saying is the next time you don’t have time for a workout, think about all of the things you DO have time for. Are all of them more important than taking care of your body? And for all of your ladies out there who want a certain body but don’t “have” time for it–stop dreaming about it MAKE time for it. I read somewhere once that “I don’t have time is the grown up equivalent of the dog ate my homework”. Think about that. Oh, and I can make a salad in less time than you can cook a frozen pizza so yeah…not time consuming at all.  😉

Take care everyone! And remember, we DO have time, if we want it bad enough.

 

Leave a Reply

