Vegan Gluten-free Black Bean Brownies

I adore black beans, and it would seem that more and more people feel the same way. They’re popping up all over the place in recipes that I would not typically think. It would appear that black beans are…dare I say it; the new black! (I couldn’t help myself, sorry).

I mean what’s not to love, they’re flavourful, inexpensive and a great source of protein, iron, and fiber. Not to mention they go perfectly in chili, rice, burgers….brownies. Whoa….hold the phone, brownies? Did I really just try to lead you to believe that chili and brownies now have something in common? The answer is YES!! My favourite little bean just keeps giving, and uh…let’s be honest if you love beans, and you love chocolate…why can’t it work?

blackbeanbrownie

Trust me tho, I was more than a little skeptical at first since I associate black beans with savory and often very spicy dishes. I will admit, I expected these brownies would be more EWWIE than ooey gooey if you know what I mean, and I would end up tossing the entire pan in the trash. However being of a curious nature, and in the mood to bake I decided it was worth the risk, and made them anyway.

I promised my mother I would find healthy recipes for her to make for my dad, and this one definitely makes the cut. As a matter of fact, she said that she doesn’t want a cake for her birthday but, I might make these for her for her instead. I’m also leaning toward raw coconut almond date squares but that’s an entire different story (recipe to come soon).

But back to the main event…the brownies. Give these guys a try, I assure you, you won’t be disappointed.

 Black Bean Brownies

Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie

  • 1 1/2 cups black beans (1 19-oz can, drained and rinsed very well)

  • 3 heaping tbsp cocoa powder- dutch or regular (I like them rich)

  • 1/2 cup quick oats (Gf if you’re celiac like me)

  • 1/4 tsp salt

  • 1/4 cup pure maple syrup or agave (I used a mix of both)

  • 2 Tbsp coconut sugar

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil

  • 3/4 tsp instant espresso powder (or instant coffee powder)

  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened almond milk

  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract

  • 1/2 tsp baking powder

  • 1/2 cup to 2/3 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 F. Combine all ingredients except chips in a good food processor, and blend until completely smooth. Really blend well. (I actually used a blender, but it was messy and the mixture is really thick so I really do NOT recommend it). Stir in the chips, then pour into a greased 8×8 pan. Cook 15-18 minutes, then let cool at least 10 minutes before trying to cut. Makes 9-12 brownies. (I got 16 because I cut mine smaller to take to work for my co workers to taste test)

Note: I took these babies to work today and set them out for my coworker and they DEVOURED them. Several people commented that they weren’t super sweet, but most people raved about the rich chocolate flavour and the smooth texture. Most of the women in my office asked for the recipe. NO ONE detected that they were free of butter, eggs, refined sugar, flour, etc. When I finally told them they were made with black beans they were stunned. To me, that is the ultimate test. I’m used to healthy food and like the taste, but to someone used to a 2 bite brownie from the grocery store I wasn’t sure how the taste would measure up. Seeing everyone gobble them up gave me my answer! Now you want to make them even more…right?

3 thoughts on “Vegan Gluten-free Black Bean Brownies

Leave a Reply

