Spring Cleaning–good for your windows, closets, and liver!

Well i’m back from Nova Scotia and fully revitalized. Hmm…okay not exactly true. My spirit feels awake and refreshed, but my poor body is exhausted. Apparently staying up til 2am, and getting up at 7 am every day while on vacation isn’t the best way to relax. It doesn’t matter tho, because I had a wonderful time. I spent time with my parents, grandparents, and sisters and could have used another 5 or 6 days to squeeze in even more fun, but i’ll take what I can get.

Going into the trip, I was nervous that my mom would be insanely judgmental of my predominately raw lifestyle, but instead she fully embraced it and had ridiculous amounts of fruit cut up for me all the time. I have to admit, I had planned to make her breakfast in bed, but instead I woke up to her bringing me a giant fruit try. *sigh* Both of my parents commented on my complexion and how healthy I looked, so I suppose they found it hard to argue with what they could see. If I looked sickly and pale, I think they would have given me a hard time, but luckily the way I eat is doing my body good.

I normally head home to NS for a long weekend and sleep and read, but this trip I made it my mission to do as many nice things for my family as possible. Let’s see…I surprised my dad by showing up at 1am and hiding in the porch. He kept pinching himself to ensure he wasn’t dreaming. I treated my mom to a huge birthday dinner, made her a cake, and decorated the house. I also bought her a juicer, but in pure Regena fashion, I gave it to her early because I couldn’t wait any longer. It worked out tho, because she wanted me to teach her some of my juicing recipes. I bought maternity clothes for my baby sister, and played hair stylist to my other sister. I took home tons of little presents, but I realized while standing at the airport looking into my mother’s tearful eyes that it wasn’t the ‘things’ I brought home that mattered the most. *sniff*

Mom, Dad, and I on her birthday! Isn't she beautiful?

 

We spent a lot of time driving while I was home. My grandmother lives 5 hours away, so we drove there and back. The airport is 2 hours away, so yeah…had to get there too. Normally, we jump in the van and head to our destination only stopping every 45 minutes when my baby bladder forces us to do so, but this trip we actually enjoyed the scenery along the way and had little adventures. We followed the GPS on my phone and found Starbucks  checked out a few parks, and even took a few detours just because we could. It was so nice to just relax and chat with my parents. Well it was nice until they started reminiscing about the tornado that was me as a child. I won’t go into detail, but I had a crazy imagination and was obsessed with being a pterodactyl -there was a point in my life (around the age of 5)where my mother was constantly afraid I would break my legs because I jumped off of anything higher than a step (*I once flew off my neighbors banister into the wall…My bad).

While I was home my mom and I swapped stories of spring cleaning. My mom pointed out a giant (size of a fist) brown spider outside of her window and said “You’re a vegan now, do you want to rescue it before I start cleaning and knock it to the ground”. Uh yeah…I may be a vegan, and want all creatures to be treated with care but there is NO WAYYYYY I am touching that giant hairy leggy thing. *shudders* Confession time, I need to clean my own windows but there are spiders lurking outside, so they may just stay dirty until I can no longer see out of them…or the spider realizes it likes the taste of human flesh and eats me in my sleep. Whoops, I got a little distracted there–the point was that we were discussing spring cleaning, and the topic of spring cleaning for the body came up. My mom liked the suggestions I gave her, but being a crazy person (I do come by it honestly) she decided to do a juice feast. I say feast because there will be no starving going on here, but instead plenty of clean, homemade fresh amazing juice. I agreed to do it with her, because let’s be honest I could use a little pick me up. (I was supposed to be aiming for abs, and technically I still am, but my friends all quit, so it’s been slow going for me…so maybe this will focus me once again).

The detox/spring cleaning/juice feast starts on Sunday, April 8th and lasts for 7 days. Mom wants to try to do it for 14 days, and I promised that I would continue with her but with several modifications. I plan to do smoothies instead of just juice after the first 7 days, and i’ll probably eat bananas too. Additionally, she wants to continue the spring clean for 28 days (so 2 additional weeks) but will incorporate green smoothies and raw fruits and veggies. I am afraid that she is not going to consume enough calories the first few days and will be tempted the quit, so I will be calling her every day–probably twice a day–to keep her motivated. If you could use a spring clean, feel free to join us. A detox/spring clean doesn’t have to mean ONLY juice or ONLY smoothies, but perhaps you eat a lot of fried foods–try cutting that out for a week, or adding a green smoothie to your day. Little changes can make a big impact.

I am not looking to lose any weight, and will probably consume several liters of juice per day to keep up my energy, but I am so excited for the mental and physical benefits that come with detoxification. I am ready for the clearer skin, better mental clarity, healthier hair, and of course feeling light and revitalized. I tried telling my mom how it feels to give up all of that junk, but she’s not convinced yet. Of course she wants to feel lighter and healthier, but she’s going for weight loss, so I have to show her that weight loss isn’t the most important part of this detox. Let’s hope that this 28 day journey will awaken her younger self and she will continue this healthier lifestyle.

My beautiful Mother!
My beautiful Mother!
One thought on “Spring Cleaning–good for your windows, closets, and liver!

  1. This post made me very happy! I’m excited for your mom!

    Tell me more about this ab challenge… I’m in!

Leave a Reply

