Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie Recipe (Raw, Vegan)

I have a major sweet tooth…big surprise there, I know. It was so incredibly hot outside today, so after my workout I decided to make myself a smoothie, and since i was in the mood for chocolate my usual green smoothie just wasn’t going to cut it. This recipe makes a ton of smoothie, but since I wasn’t ‘eating’ dinner, I wanted to make sure i’d have enough to keep me full for the entire evening. I drank 1 portion right away as a smoothie, and the second I waited an hour until it was a pudding consistency and ate it like dessert with a banana chopped up on top. 🙂 This tastes like a chocolate covered strawberry so if you have a sweet tooth, like me, you’re in for quite a treat!

chocolate-strawberry-smoothie

Chocolate Strawberry shake (Healthy, Raw, vegan, )

(makes 2 servings)

2 cups almond milk (preferably homemade) *If smoothie is too thick add a little more milk

2 cups frozen sliced strawberries

1 frozen banana

2 tbsp raw cacao powder

1 tsp raw maca powder

1 tbsp cacao nibs

1 tbsp hemp seeds

1 tbsp chia seeds

Scoop of favourite chocolate protein powder

Throw everything in the blender in the order listed, and BLEND BLEND BLEND!!! Enjoy!!

*This recipe takes quite a lot of cacao powder but I don’t find protein powder to be chocolatey enough on it’s own. This evening I had a bit of a ‘spazz’ moment and forgot to add the protein powder. Oops. I also switched up 1 cup of strawberries for 1 cup of sweet cherries. Oh, I suppose I should add that I personally like dark chocolate, but if this is too bitter for you, feel free to add some raw agave to the smoothie for a little sweetness.

Some of the products that I used tonight were:

Navitas-Naturals-Organic-Cacao-Powder-Raw-

2012111613475639078_lrg

manitoba-harvest-hemp-hearts

 

 

 

 

I present this recipe in “smoothie” form, but another option is to enjoy it as a protein pudding. If you are in a “pudding” mood, don’t use frozen fruit OR do and simply let the smoothie sit for 15-20 minutes and voila rich velvety chocolate strawberry pudding! Chop up a banana, add some fresh berries, and maybe even a few more cacao nibs and enjoy a healthy decadent dessert!

 

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie Recipe (Raw, Vegan)

Leave a Reply

