Spicy Chipotle Hummus

DSC04367

As I sit here writing this post, sipping my decaf coffee with cinnamon– little mermaid playing softly in the background–I find myself salivating slightly (okay it’s a lot) thinking about hummus. I am not going to lie, I’m addicted to this stuff…and I have a feeling you will be too!

I feel like it’s my civil duty to mention that I like spicy food, so if you don’t like spice this probably isn’t the recipe for you. I actually typically double the chipotle peppers and chili but i’ve been told that is just ridiculous, so follow the recipe as written unless you’re as crazy as I am! Enjoy!

DSC04409

 

Spicy Chipotle Hummus

28 oz Chickpeas

2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce + 1 tbsp adobo sauce

3-4 Tbsp Tahini (mom prefers to use 6 heaping tbsp)

5 cloves of garlic

1 lemon juiced (just under 1/4 cup)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 pepper

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp cumin

1/4  chili pepper

1/4 cup olive oil

1/3 cup water

It’s pretty simple really, throw everything into a food processor in the order listed and then blend until smooth! I personally like mine light and fluffy so I tend to add a little more water, but my mom said the above measurements were perfect for her (minus the spice which she cuts in half because she doesn’t like spicy food). She also chops the garlic before adding it to the recipe, but I don’t see why. The food processor does all of the work, to me it’s the same as mashing the chickpeas before you put them in the processor…it’s an unnecessary step. But, feel free to chop, mash, or readjust the recipe as you see fit.

Now that you have creamy spicy hummus, you have my permission to slather heaping teaspoons of it on everything you eat until you’re mouth is on fire. Repeat as often as you want EVEN tho I keep reading fitness/nutrition blogs that say any more than 2 tbsp of hummus is over doing it. To those blogs I say “Okay sure” and then have a 3rd, 4th, and 5th TBSP of hummus anyway.

Enjoy!

A girlfriend of mine kindly pointed out that this hummus is reminiscent of a mound of well...i'm sure you can guess, but let's pretend she's wrong since this is the only photo I have.
A girlfriend of mine kindly pointed out that this hummus is reminiscent of a mound of well…i’m sure you can guess, but let’s pretend she’s wrong since this is the only photo I have.

 

Leave a Reply

