Pour yourself a drink, put on some lipstick, and pull yourself together! *Beauty Tuesday*

In case you’re wondering, tonight’s title comes from the lips (pun intended) of Elizabeth Taylor herself! If you’re not inclined to pour yourself that drink, at the very least, put on an extra coat of lipstick, and pull yourself together!

Lipstick, like shoes, can really add to a look. With each colour and finish you have the ability to drastically change the look of an outfit, make up look, etc. And many are so inexpensive it makes playing with various colours practically guilt free–well especially in comparison to shoes!

Gwyneth Paltrow, like myself, is also a lipstick lover. She once said “Beauty, to me, is about being comfortable in your own skin. That, or a kick-ass red lipstick.” I have to say I agree. I believe we need to be comfortable in our own skin first, but a gorgeous lipstick is definitely a close second. 😉

IMG_20131001_181724

As I sat down to begin this post, peppermint tea in hand, I glanced at the time… Oh my goodness, 10:45pm. Seriously? Where did the evening go? Well, it looks like this post will be a little shorter than usual since it’s way past my bedtime, but at least i’m sticking to my commitment. I obviously should have started this post much earlier, but as fate would have it, things did not quite work out that way.  I was actually completely on schedule after my workout, and was even considering a nice long bubble bath this evening when it hit me– There’s a potluck tomorrow, and I haven’t made anything yet! Eeek! Usually I am on top of these things, as I love to cook and to bake, but I’ve been insanely busy with work, and just life in general and it slipped my mind. I had intended to make a veggie dish, but since I completely forgot until several hours ago I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand. In a panic I quickly scanned the kitchen and BOOM, spotty bananas on the cupboard.  I had been saving them for an upcoming recipe, but I will have to start rotting bananas again tomorrow. (Okay not rotting them, but once they’re past being green, they’re as good as rotten to me anyway). It wasn’t too long before I was pulling a loaf of banana bread out of the oven. Perfect!

Now, I’d like to say, I stopped there, but I also remembered that I wanted baked oatmeal, raspberry chia compote, and roasted cinnamon apples. My plan is to layer all 3 together tomorrow for an AMAZING breakfast and eat them parfait style *drools*. So, when I finally finished all the peeling, stirring, tasting, and cleaning–made tea, and finally settled down to write my blog, well…you know the rest. It’s practically 11pm and I haven’t even gotten to the point of tonight’s post. Oops. So much for short. So, before I start telling you about how amazing the apples taste, let’s get into the specifics of tonight’s post shall we?

In case you couldn’t tell from the title of this post, I plan to discuss lipstick. Not just any lipstick, my GO TO lipsticks! On a day to day basis, I typically wear minimal makeup with just a light dusting of powder, a little blush, lipbalm and mascara. Occasionally i’ll add winged eye liner, or even a touch of shimmery shadow to my inner tear duct area but truthfully, with working out in the morning, getting to work for 7am, making and eating breakfast (very important), I don’t really have the time to spend on perfecting my face. However, my saving grace is lipstick. There is something about a bright pop of colour be it pink, red, purple, etc that really pulls a look together. Suddenly i’ve gone from simple, to a bold, perhaps even seductive look.

Without further ado, here are my favourite shades of lipsticks.

Back row: (L-R) MAC Glamour Era, MAC Rebel, Dior Daisy Plum, MAC Hipster Front row: (L-R) MAC Lovelorn, MAC Girl About Town, Lancôme Rouge in Love (Violette Coquette).
Back row: (L-R) MAC Glamour Era, MAC Rebel, Dior Daisy Plum, MAC Hipster
Front row: (L-R) MAC Lovelorn, MAC Girl About Town, Lancôme Rouge in Love (Violette Coquette).

I had originally planned to take photos wearing each of the different colours, but for some reason the lighting just wasn’t allowing that to happen tonight. I think I will have to invest in better lighting since I do many of my photos after work when it’s not as bright.

During the summer, I wore Girl about town and Rouge in Love most of the time, with Glamour Era being the simple every day shade. MAC Glamour Era is very similar to my natural lip colour and simply adds a little dimension and shine. Now that i’m moving into autumn and changing to deeper colours, I find myself drawn to the bordeaux shades. I am currently on the hunt for the perfect deep red, almost brick colour. I am sure with a little searching, i’ll find it.

As I mentioned earlier, I don’t wear lipstick every day, or any make up for that matter, but often throwing on a coat of lipstick is as simple as popping in a pair of earings. It adds that extra little something without being overdone. If I had to choose an absolute all time favourite based on packaging, colour payoff, texture, and overall wearability I’d have to go with Lancome’s Violette Coquette

It goes on silky smooth, never leaves my lips feeling dry, works well with my skin tone, and can easily be a spring shade, a summer shade, or if I feel like it a fall and winter!

So tell me, what are you favourite lipstick colours for fall? Any new trends you’re planning to try out? And finally, where do you stand when it comes to lipstick? And by this I mean, many people shy away from it because it can smudge, transfer, or even look messy and over the top are you a nude lip kind of girl or a bold red or orange type of lady? I’d love to hear from you!

Until next week’s beauty chat, stay gorgeous my friends!

One thought on “Pour yourself a drink, put on some lipstick, and pull yourself together! *Beauty Tuesday*

Leave a Reply

