Day 8: Do you even meal prep?

Oh glorious meal prep day, how I dread and love you at the same time. Dread because I HATE doing dishes, but Love because FOOD!

IMG_20140901_232010

Today I decided to increase my calories. I’m sure to some this doesn’t seem like a major issue. If you want to increase your calories Regena, go ahead. To others, you may be thinking? WHY?! You’re not skinny, clearly you get enough food.

What does this have to do with my personal and emotional growth?

A LOT. I would even go so far as to say a hell of a lot.

A few years ago, the thought of increasing my calories would have stopped me dead in my tracks. I would have been so terrified of getting fat. The younger, naive me would have thought I’m 5’0 tall and that means I need 1,000-1,200 calories per day not an ounce more. Boy was she wrong. I have to admit, some days I miss those slimmer thighs, then I remember they were just skinny, and now they’re muscular. Could I lean out a little? Get my abs back? Of course, but i’m happy where I am right now building muscle and getting stronger. Abs are great, but they don’t define who I am. And I can’t grow my muscles if i’m starving them.

I have grown so much physically (I’m up nearly 15 lbs from my 102 lb days) and emotionally the past few years. Although it may seem silly to some, the fact that I can WILLINGLY come to the conclusion that I need more calories AND that this new target puts me 1,000 calories above where I used to eat, it shows me just how strong i’ve become.

In all honesty, I don’t think I’ve been eating enough lately. And I KNOW I wasn’t eating enough back then, but that’s another story for another post–which I will get to. My gym sessions have become a struggle, i’m sore all the time, and i’m losing strength. Of course this could be due to a multitude of issues. Perhaps I need more sleep, my iron/B12 could be low, or I am over training and need a break, etc. Sure, I’ve thought about each of these, and will ALSO be training less the next few weeks, sleeping more, and ensuring I am getting proper nutrients. However, I really do think it’s just a simple matter of increasing my calories. I’ve felt like this before, and each time all it took was more food–however, my sleep has been terrible lately so I do think that is another major culprit.

I am not going to increase my calories by 1,000 over night or anything, i’m simply going to add on an additional 200-350 to see how things go.

Tonight, I prepped my food for the week. I eat a lot of the same things each day. I love what I make, so until I get bored I have no problem doing this. I will make slight changes from week to week such as having asparagus instead of broccoli, or peppers instead of cucumber with my hummus, etc.

IMG_20140901_215823
I apologize for the poor quality of the photo. I didn’t take the photos until night time, and apparently my kitchen has poor lighting. I am going to arrange my next meal prep photos to be on my table in daylight.

 

If you’re wondering about anything in the photo I have

-Mung bean pasta with tofu, zucchini and mushrooms in a roasted garlic tomato sauce.

-Roasted broccoli with pan fried tofu.

-Cucumber and roasted garlic hummus

-Oatmeal with blueberry compote

-Oranges

-Assortment of nut butters and granola/protein bars

-Roasted beets and roasted asparagus for salad. Recipe coming this week!

Of course not everything i’ll be eating this week is pictured, but I think you get the idea. I am very busy all week long, and having my meals prepped in advance works well for me. Do you prep your meals in advance?

Stay tuned for an update on the matter of the increased calories.

Good night my friends.

 

Leave a Reply

