Day 10: Pea Shoot Salad with Roasted Beets and Asparagus (vegan, gluten free)

Good Evening beautiful friends,

I have a confession. I am utterly terrified of the dentist.

10534726_806771557498_7910149906777947047_n

I try not to be, but I am. The hygienists at my dentist’s office are always so sweet, and quite gentle, but I still have nightmares in the days leading up to an appointment. Last night was no exception. Between the drills, the evil clown doctor, and the bucket of teeth in the corner, I’d say my imagination covered just about every bad scenario that could ever NOT happen so luckily today’s experience was really good in comparison. Unfortunately, the assistant broke the retainer that has been cemented to my bottom teeth, so I need to go back on Friday to have that reattached and perhaps a few other things.

I am not a daredevil. I do not do tons of death defying acts. I do, however, face my fears on a regular basis. (Accept birds, I do not face birds…)

Oh come on, the dentist isn’t even a big deal. Going to get your teeth cleaned isn’t REALLY that big of an accomplishment.

It’s true, it’s not a huge deal to some, but I am afraid and each time I go it’s a personal victory. Let’s not forget I am an adult, so I could just NOT go and let my fear win out, but I don’t. I know this isn’t some huge win for humanity, but no matter your fear, the magnitude or lack thereof if you pull on your big girl/boy pants and face it head on that IS a big accomplishment. Be proud of yourself.

As a reward for handling the day like a pro, I made this amazing salad. It’s super simple, comes together quickly but it’s insanely delicious. I roasted the beets Monday so I wouldn’t have to do them today, but you can definitely do them right before making the salad keeping in mind the beets take a while cook.

IMG_20140903_201848 (1)

Pea Shoot Salad with Roasted Beets and Asparagus.

Makes 2 large salads

3 medium beets

1/2 bunch Asparagus

5-6 cups pea shoots

1 shallot, finely chopped

1/4 cup parsley, finely chopped

1 clove garlic, minced

2 Tablespoons finely chopped fresh dill (1/2 tsp dried dill will also work)

1/8 cup white balsamic

4 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

1/4 cup walnuts

Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 450. Wrap beets in foil and roast until tender, approximately 60-90 minutes. Roast Asparagus and beets at the same time. To prepare the asparagus, cut off the bottom 1/4 and discard. Cut the remaining asparagus in half, drizzle with 1 tbsp olive oil, salt, pepper, and roast for 15 minutes until golden. Remove from oven and leave beets to continue roasting.

While vegetables are roasting prepare the vinaigrette. Mix together balsamic (alternatively use lemon juice, wine vinegar + 1 tsp maple syrup), remaining oil, fresh dill, garlic, parsley, scallion, and salt and pepper. Mix well.

Slice the walnuts into quarters and wash and dry the pea shoots.

When the beets are finished, allow to cool (or you’ll burn your poor finger prints off, sort of like I did Monday evening) enough to handle approximately 20-25 minutes. Remove skin, slice into medallions. (Here is a VERY useful article for removing the skin from roasted beets).

To assemble, mix greens with vinaigrette, add in the asparagus, beets, and walnuts. Toss well to coat everything completely. Devour.

IMG_20140903_194726

This salad is great on it’s own, as I enjoyed it tonight. However, if you find yourself wanting a more substantial dinner, try a simple quinoa salad side dish with some garlic pan fried tofu. (check back later for these recipes they’re coming soon)

Namaste beautiful friends.

Leave a Reply

