Day 12: By any beans necessary…

“You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.” -Maya Angelou

Tonight, I am thankful for colours. They brighten up the world, our moods, and can transform the otherwise dull into a beautiful spectacle. I think i’ve mentioned before that sometimes the simple act of adding a bright pop of colour in my lipstick, a shoe, or even a cushion on the sofa can really cheer me up when i’m feeling down.

Happy Friday fellow veg-heads. (That’s veg as in vegetable in case you were wondering)

It’s the end of the week and you know what that means? Things can finally be performed at a leisurely pace. It also means no work, so I can catch up on some much needed Zzzz’s. I’m not sure about everyone else, but I am looking forward to sleeping in tomorrow and actually chewing my breakfast rather than inhaling it like I currently do Monday through Friday.

Many of us become so focused on the ‘grind’ all week long that we forget to breathe and relax. I am not so insanely stressed about any particular thing, however, I always have something that I could or should be doing. From the time my eyes fly open at 5am until they close at night I am continuously multitasking. The end of the week for me means I get to finally take that much needed breath, relax, and clear my head. You know what else weekends mean? Enjoying a cup (or 2) of coffee on my sofa, reading a book, as the sun rises.

That sounds so good, I may have to fall asleep IMMEDIATELY just so I can wake up and do it.

As far as coffee goes, I typically use a French press. I purchase my beans from a coffee shop and micro roaster here in Ottawa called The Blue Bird Coffee you can check them out on their website HERE
In addition to these beans, I recently discovered the brand ONE COFFEE that makes Organic, Fair trade Coffee in biodegradable Keurig style cups. My office has a Keurig machine and it’s perfect, I do not feel like i’m wasting so much plastic and it’s organic fair trade. I bought a box of assorted blends so I could try them out. I absolutely love this coffee as well.

That reminds me, i’m obsessed with iced coffee! It’s extremely expensive to purchase coffee shop iced coffee and lattes on a regular basis, and they often contain extra unnecessary sugar and calories. Making your drinks at home is both economical and diet friendly. When I’m in the office I use the ‘One Coffee’ pods, and at home I use French pressed coffee. All you need to make the drink is your non-dairy milk of choice (soy/hemp/almond), cold coffee, ice cubes, and a sweetener (Maple syrup/agave/liquid stevia). Try 1 cup cold coffee, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 5 drops french vanilla liquid stevia, load up with ice and enjoy either shaken or blended.

IMG_20140905_193152

 

Tomorrow, I will be enjoying a nice large pitcher of iced coffee blended with almond milk, cocoa, maple syrup and ice. I may even go so far as to add a frozen banana to give it a milkshake texture.

No matter how you choose to spend your time this weekend, remember to take time out for yourself. Set aside a time where you can relax, be alone with your thoughts, and recenter yourself for the upcoming week.

Above all else, be thankful, be kind, be happy.

Namaste friends.

Leave a Reply

