Day 13: “I love you from my head tomatoes.”

“The greatest danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we miss it, but that it is too low and we reach it.” – Michelangelo

 

I love my husband. Today, I am thankful for my health and for the opportunity to be an attentive wife to a rather sick husband.

Andrew has the flu and is feeling incredibly run down, achy, and all that other fun stuff. I made him soup today, fluffed his pillows, listened to him whine (if you’ve ever experienced “MAN SICKNESS” you know what i’m talking about shhh…..) and checked on him constantly to make sure he was always as comfortable as possible. I cannot make him better, but I can make this experience as bearable as possible.

Water-check. Soup-check. Books/Tv-Check. Kleenex-Check Check. Snacks that appeal to a sick person-i’m working on it. Echinacea-CHECK! I’d say i’m doing pretty well so far.

I sincerely hope that I can avoid getting sick, but the way i’ve been going my immune system probably isn’t at it’s best. Knowing that he was starting to get sick actually forced me to sleep in today and for the first time in a week I felt truly like myself. I haven’t felt TERRIBLE all week, but I haven’t felt great either. I often force myself to workout, eat, work, etc even when i’m barely functioning and it’s a really bad habit. I know this, you know this, we all know this but it still happens. I have been working on it. I’m not perfect, but it’s getting better.

Seeing other people sick, and not at the peak of health forces me to come to terms with how badly I sometimes treat my body. I woke this morning at 5 am and forced myself to go back to sleep, I woke again at 7, at 8 and at 9. At 9 I got up and had some water and chatted with Andrew who was already awake. Cuddling made me sleepy again (No, cuddling is not code in this case), so I went back to bed and didn’t wake until noon. Typically i’m already finished my workout by 12 and at first I was pissed at myself. Then as I was getting ready for the gym, I realized how great I felt. How truly full of energy, strong, and alert I felt. It was nice. Why should I be upset that I allowed my body to rest? Sure I had chores to do, but were any of them so urgent that they can’t wait until tomorrow?

You know the answer to that. I tackled as many things as I could today, but I focused on Andrew and getting him better. I also could have done more, but decided to just CHILL. So, as I head off to bed, I want to remind all of you workaholics out there–IT’S OKAY TO TAKE A DAY OFF. There are far more important things in life than checking off a list and that is what I focused on today.

I hope each of you are well, and rested. Have a wonderful Sunday beautiful friends.

May you always know health, happiness, and love.

Leave a Reply

