Things I love about fall: October Edition

“Listen! The wind is rising, and the air is wild with leaves,
We have had our summer evenings, now for October eves!”

                                                                         -Humbert Wolfe

Good Evening Beautiful friends,

I thought i’d share a few of the top reasons I love autumn. I actually love all of the seasons, even winter–blasphemy I know (I’ll get more into this in another post). Each season brings it’s own charms and as much as I love summer, the gorgeous sunshine, hot beach days, sun dresses, tans, etc. I also love the crisp air on a fall morning, crunching through the leaves as I walk through the path on my way to work, and let’s not forget all of the amazing fashion. At first I was sad to see summer go, but I am now ready to welcome fall with open arms. Well, at least I will be, once I dig out all of my warmer clothes.

In no particular order, here are some of the things I absolutely love about October!

IMG_20141006_203744 (1)

If you know me well, you’d know I wait rather impatiently starting around August for that first arrival of my love–the sweet Cortland apple. I can only get these this time of year and I double up every single day–if 1 apple a day keeps the doctor away, I am hopefully also keeping the nurses away too.

IMG_20141006_203845

October is National Breast Cancer Awareness Month and the perfect opportunity for all of us ladies to REALLY think about our breast health. Get check ups ladies, know your body, feel for irregularities, and speak to your doctor if you have any concerns. Please visit the website Here for more information or to donate.

IMG_20141006_203801 (1)

Can’t you just taste them now? This photo actually reminds me of other things I also love about October–thanksgiving, pumpkin carving, experimenting with spices. Yum. Thyme, rosemary, tarragon, sage…I want to use them all.

IMG_20141006_203659 (1)

I’m not buying into this ‘Pumpkin spice’ craze that is apparently sweeping through North America, but I love some simple mulled cider. It’s like a warm hug, it’s easy to make at home, and unlike the pumpkin spice lattes you can get at your local coffee shop, contain only a few PRONOUNCEABLE ingredients.

IMG_20141006_210906

Remember when I said the cider was like a warm hug? Well a cozy cable knit sweater with an infinity scarf isn’t LIKE a hug–it IS a hug. It’s difficult for me to want to dress like an adult with a job once i’ve put on my first scarf and sweater of the season. Bring on the leggings, the long baggy sweaters, and the scarves wrapped around my neck and head…

IMG_20141006_203825

Practical. Comfortable. Warm. Goodbye stilettos…haha just kidding, stilettos can stay, but only for special occasions, however bring on the ankle boots, knee highs, thigh highs, in all shades of brown, grey, and black. As my husband and messy closet would attest–I can’t get enough.

IMG_20141006_203911

One day all of the leaves have gone from green to these rich beautiful shades of orange, yellow, and red. I find it so utterly breath taking and romantic walking along surrounded by all of the beauty nature has to offer. I guess I should mention, autumn is an excellent time for cuddling. So be sure to snuggle up to that special someone, or even a teddy bear–heck even a glass of wine will do. Wine knows how to cuddle back–I promise.

IMG_20141006_203727 (1)

And finally, Halloween! Pumpkin carving, dress up (yes I still do that), and of course all of the fantastic and scary Halloween movies that scare me year after year. I think this weekend I will break out a few oldies.

There are so many things I love about fall, but these are a few of the things that stand out about OCTOBER. I will do a November post in a few weeks as there are a few things *Hint Hint it’s my birthday month!* that really get me excited.

Have a wonderful evening friends.

Leave a Reply

