Day 46: Sleep does the body (and mind) good!

“Be thankful for the bad things in life. For they open your eyes to the good things you weren’t paying attention to before”

Good Evening beautiful friends,

Speaking of paying attention…Today was one of THOSE days. You know, the type of day where you make simple mistakes for no reason other than that you’re distracted with thinking about anything but the task at hand. Ever had that happen?

Let me explain.

5:50am at Starbucks.

I saw a sign advertising French toast at Starbucks! Even though I can’t have any because I’m vegan/gluten free, I was instantly excited and couldn’t wait to share this information with some one.

9:30am to a friend.

“Hey did you know Starbucks is making French toast now!”

“What? No they’re not”

“Yep! I saw a sign in the store today in the corner”

“Regena, I don’t want to argue because maybe they do french toast now, but are you sure the sign in the corner wasn’t for FRENCH ROAST…as in coffee, since you were in a COFFEE shop”

“Well, Shit.”

So there you have it folks. The sign in the corner said French roast–as it should. I Googled just to make sure, and Starbucks does not sell French toast. Which by the way, my friend was sad about even after she proudly pointed out my mistake.

Something similar happened this evening, about 10 minutes before starting to write this blog post actually. I was folding laundry and thought to myself “Mmmm….popcorn”

Wait?! Popcorn? I’m not making popcorn? What is that smell?

I’m sad to announce it was my steel cut oats. I forgot all about my pot of oatmeal on the stove and it had cooked down and created a lovely burnt crust on the bottom of my pot. Now THAT is going to be fun to remove.

All this rambling to bring up a very important point–sleep is incredibly important. I have not been sleeping well the past few days (about 6 to be precise) and it’s taking a toll on me. I don’t just notice the effects on my body, I also see a very noticeable difference on my emotions, memory, and mental capacity.

Things i’ve noticed:

Physically:  I am not recovering from my workouts very well. As a matter of fact, I have the worst case of DOMS (delayed onset muscle soreness) of life. I trained hard this week, sure, but I should not feel like this. It is not ALL because of my lack of sleep, but I assure you it isn’t helping. I’m achy, and lying in bed is the most appealing idea ever.

Emotionally: Let’s just say i’m a bit of a short fuse this week. I haven’t lost my cool on anyone, but things are bothering me much more than they normally would. I’m irritable, easily frustrated, and if I watched ‘The Notebook’ right now, i’d likely end up sobbing like a child who’s dog ran away.

Mentally: BRUTAL. I can’t spell. I can’t concentrate. Simple work tasks are a struggle, which is exceptionally stressful because I have multiple deadlines to meet. I become slightly dyslexic when i’m extremely tired, and need to focus 10x harder than usual which again just creates more of a vicious cycle because I cannot focus BECAUSE i’m tired.

The next time you feel like staying up til 2am to marathon America’s next top model (why on earth did I pick this show?) but have to be up at 7 to go to work, remember these 8 top reasons why you should turn the Television off and go to bed for some ZZZZs instead.

Some health benefits of sleep:

1. Improved Memory

2. Better Quality of life

3. More creative

4. Improved performance (as an athlete)

5. Sharpened Attention/Focus

6. Less likely to Stress

7. Less likely to gain weight

8. Probably won’t Lose your sh*t on a coworker or spouse. Okay, I made this last one up, but hey, if you’re tired and grumpy fights happen. So get your sleep.

I’m not saying one good night of sleep will completely fix you if you’re a chronic insomniac, but I know for a fact that the better i’m sleeping, the happier, healthier, and more energetic I am. Things come easier, I have better workouts, and overall like myself and everyone else more. 😉

On that note, i’m off to bed. Sleep well beauties,

*Namaste*

 

 

Leave a Reply

