53: Every inch of you is perfect from the bottom to the top…

“For beautiful eyes, look for the good in others; for beautiful lips, speak only words of kindness; and for poise, walk with the knowledge that you are never alone.”

Good Evening friends,

As I near the end of this 60 day journey, I am feeling so light and refreshed.  I’ve missed blogging some days, I haven’t posted about as many topics as I had hoped, but I learned a lot about myself. Although I haven’t chronicled every single moment, I have done so many things in the past 53 days that have really changed how I live my daily life. I have discovered that beginning each day with a grateful happy heart, EVEN when I want to throw my alarm against the wall, changes my entire day, and I just end up feeling so much better. Even if you’re unaware, if you’re holding on to negative thoughts, they have a way of slowly seeping out through your words, your actions, and your attitude. Trade in the negativity for positive thoughts, love, laughter, and soon you’ll see how much of an impact it makes on your life.

As you know, when I began this 60 day journey I had every intention of making my way through my bucket list as quickly as possible. I have at least 23 things left pending, so I was looking for short cuts and ways to do them ‘partially’ so I could cross them off and be done with them by the end of the month.

A week ago I was talking to a friend of mine and she said something that I sort of ignored at the time, but that has stuck with me. She said, “Don’t do the list halfway. This is NOT you, and NOT what your challenge is about. Take a longer time and do each and every item for you–the RIGHT way.”

Say what?

Why didn’t I think of that?

So ladies and gentleman, I will not finish my bucket list by my birthday BUT I am still working on it. I also have a few other items to add to it and over the course of the next year i’ll cross off as many as possible.

My main goal in life is to find balance. I want to be happy, healthy, living the best version of me. Which is why I am going to end with a music video by Colbie Caillat tonight. Please watch the video and listen to the lyrics and you’ll understand why.

I do not wake up every day and dislike the girl I see. I spent so much of my time as a teenager and in my early 20’s obsessing over body types I will never have, and thankfully have come to love myself the way I am. No more changing to please others, what matters is that I love me. However, I won’t sit here and lie–i’m human.  I love myself 95% of the time–and i’m okay with my flaws, but that 5% of the time self doubt creeps in and HOLY SPIT BALLS BATMAN I have huge thighs.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not all about how pretty you are, but on those days when you really do feel disgusting it’s nice to know it doesn’t matter. Whether I have a thigh gap, they rub when I walk, or I have 250 lbs to lose I am beautiful. Beauty cannot be measured with a tape measure, by how many layers of mascara i’m wearing, or my ability to stand upright in 5 inch heels while wearing a cocktail dress—beauty is being kind to others, it’s offering to help when one one else does, seeing a friend in need and rushing to their aid, it’s soft, it’s strong, and it’s in all of us.

So the next time you look in the mirror and think your eyes are crooked, your brows need more filler, or your thighs are too thick just remember you are perfect THE WAY YOU ARE. Love yourself first, the other stuff will fall into place.

*Namaste Friends.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

