Day 59: We will not be intimidated…

Imagine there’s no countries
It isn’t hard to do
Nothing to kill or die for
And no religion too
Imagine all the people
Living life in peace…

You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

 

Today Ottawa was rocked by a series of hostile events. This morning a man shot and killed a soldier standing at the National War Memorial, and then went on to run through Parliament Hill terrorizing those inside and shooting until he was eventually killed.

When I first found out, I thought there was some mistake. I was in utter disbelief. This could not be happening here, so close to home. This is the type of violence I read about on news sites, butย it’s always far away. For the first time in a very long time, I experienced real fear. I remained glued to Twitter, News sites, and Live streams to stay up to date on what was transpiring. My poor parents didn’t relax for a moment until I called them from the safety of my house tonight.

Listening to Justin Trudeau’s speech, I was pleased to hear him address the Muslim community. Too often following events like this, hatred, bitterness,and outrage cloud our judgement. It’s important to note, that regardless of what evidence comes to light surrounding the shooting it is only the extremists who are doing these hateful and violent acts. We are all affected during times of crisis and it’s important to stand together.

I’d like to take a moment to thank all of those courageous men and women who put their lives at risk today to help others and ensure the rest of us were safe. As well, my deepest condolences to the family of the fallen soldier.

The events of the day, although they’ve left me slightly unnerved, have also left me feeling exceptionally grateful to be alive, unharmed, healthy, and home safe with my husband. This eveningย ย take a moment to send positive vibes into the universe, I’m sure there is someone out there who could use them.

Be well.

Canada Flag

Leave a Reply

